Issue 54 & Vinyl Bundle | Sold Out


Print magazine and double vinyl

210 x 280 mm / 100 page / soft touch cover

Sign up to our mailing list here to be the first to get all the latest news on releases

Out of stock

Categories: ,


Issue 54 Magazine & Gatefold Double Vinyl Bundle

This month’s Electronic Sound is a Factory Records special, with the focus on the first 100 Factory catalogue numbers. We also have an exclusive double seven-inch single to accompany the magazine.

We’ve built this issue around an in-depth analysis of the Factory catalogue from FAC 1 (a poster for the opening month of the Factory Club) to FACT 100 (New Order’s ‘Low-Life’ album). We also have a previously unpublished and hugely entertaining interview with label supremo Tony Wilson conducted by Factory archivist James Nice in 2005, two years before Wilson’s death at the age of just 57.

Issue 54 has lots more great interviews too, including A Certain Ratio, Minny PopsSection 25, and Stephen Morris from Joy Division and New Order, plus additional eye witness accounts from a range of other early Factory artists, such as Cabaret Voltaire, OMDCrispy Ambulance, John Dowie, Quando Quango, Kevin Hewick and Stockholm Monsters. We also have an archive piece on Vini Reilly of The Durutti Column which originally appeared in NME in 1980.

We have tons of good stuff elsewhere in the magazine too – Dave BallEdwyn Collins and Jane Weaver, for example – as well our usual cornucopia of new album reviews.

Limited Edition Gatefold Double Seven-Inch Single: ‘A Factory Assembly’

We have a very special release to accompany this issue, ‘A Factory Assembly’, a limited edition double seven-inch featuring tracks from A Certain Ratio, The Durutti Column, Minny Pops and Section 25. ‘A Factory Assembly’ is issued in a gatefold sleeve and is a tribute to ‘A Factory Sampler’, the double seven-inch that launched the Factory label at the beginning of 1979.

The full track listing is:

A Certain Ratio – ‘Knife Slits Water’ (1982)
The Durutti Column – ‘Lips That Would Kiss’ (1980)
Minny Pops – ‘Dolphin’s Spurt’ (1981)
Section 25 – ‘Knew Noise’ (1980)