Orbital release new single, ‘Tiny Foldable Cities’, and announce new album, ‘Monsters Exist’

Orbital have released a new single, ‘Tiny Foldable Cities’

Taken from their new upcoming album ‘Monsters Exist’. You can watch the fantastically trippy video that accompanies the new single above


‘Monster Exist’ will be the Hartnoll brothers’ first album in five years and will be released on 14 September via ACP.

“When you haven’t made an album in five years, it just comes tumbling out,” explains Paul Hartnoll. “Because of the global situation, I was torn between writing a really aggressive Crass-type album that says ‘Fuck The Man!’ or going back to rave sensibilities. You know, let’s really rebel by stepping away and actually living that alternative lifestyle. You don’t need to spell out who the monsters are. We’re not pointing our fingers at Donald Trump or Kim Jong-un. I’ve never liked preaching to people. It’s much better to provoke a bit of thought.”

“It’s a reflection on modern day monsters,” summarises Phil Hartnoll. “That can mean anything from bankers and The Man or your own demons and fears. The monsters inside you.”

The duo have also reconnected with avant-garde artist John Greenwood, who designed the sleeves for 1994’s ‘Snivilisation’ and 1996’s ‘In Sides’. Greenwood will once again be on artistic duties and will provide the cover for ‘Monsters Exist’.

Orbital will be playing a number of live shows throughout the rest of the year. The full list of dates is:

29 Brighton Racecourse
30 Hull Zebedee’s Yard
13 Sawley Beat-Herder Festival
14 Barcelona Cruilla Festival
28 Margate Dreamland
29 Bournemouth Camp Bestival
3 Amsterdam Dekmantel
5 Dublin Beat Yard Festival
11 Gateshead Sage
1 Bristol Downs Festival
8 Birmingham Shiiine On Festival
18 Minehead Shiiine On Butlins Weekender
15 London Hammersmith Apollo
18 Sheffield Academy
19 Cambridge Corn Exchange
20 Manchester Apollo

‘Monsters Exist’ will be released on 14 September via ACP.